Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

The Akhenaten Adventure

The Akhenaten Adventure

Series: Children of the Lamp (Book #1)
by P. B. Kerr

Meet John and Philippa Gaunt, twelve-year-old twins who one day discover themselves to be descended from a long line of djinn. All of a sudden, they have the power to grant wishes, travel to extraordinary places, and make people and objects disappear.

Luckily, the twins are introduced to their eccentric djinn-uncle Nimrod, who will teach them how to harness their newly found power. And not a moment too soon, since John and Philippa are about to embark on a search to locate a monstrous pharaoh named Akhenaten and his eerie tomb.

Acclaimed writer Philip Kerr delivers his first novel for children, the initial book in the imaginative Akhenaten Adventure trilogy.

8, 9, 10, 11, 12
Interest Level
Grades 3 - 7
Guided Reading
Number of Pages
Fantasy, Adventure

About the Author

Contributor Image Alt Tag P. B. Kerr P.B. Kerr, better known as adult thriller writer Philip Kerr, has recently turned his focus to children's books. Children of the Lamp: The Akhenaten Adventure is the first title.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books