Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

Fever Crumb

Fever Crumb

Series: Fever Crumb (Book #1)
by Philip Reeve
A stunning novel by master storyteller Philip Reeve.
Fever Crumb is a girl who has been adopted and raised by Dr. Crumb, a member of the Order of Engineers, where she serves as apprentice. Soon though, she must say good-bye to Dr. Crumb — nearly the only person she's ever known — to assist archaeologist Kit Solent on a top-secret project. As her work begins, Fever is plagued by memories that are not her own, and Kit seems to have a particular interest in finding out what they are. Fever has also been singled out by city dwellers, who declare that she is part Scriven. The Scriveners, not human, ruled the city some years ago but were hunted down and killed in a victorious uprising by the people. If there are any remaining Scriven, they are to be eliminated.
All Fever knows is what she's been told: that she is an orphan. Is Fever a Scriven? Whose memories does she hold? Haunting, arresting, and astonishingly original, Fever Crumb will delight and surprise readers at every fast-paced, breathless turn.
"Reeve”s captivating flights of imagination play as vital a role in the story as his endearing heroine, hiss-worthy villains, and nifty array of supporting characters. Reeve has crafted a swiftly paced story worthy of standing alone, both in terms of where Fever”s adventure may lead her next as well as the connections to the Hungry City Chronicles" — Booklist
12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18
Interest Level
Grades 7 - 12
Scholastic Inc.
Number of Pages
Science Fiction, Young Adult

About the Author

Philip Reeve Philip Reeve is the author of several books including Here Lies Arthur and Fever Crumb

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Hardcovers: $12.59

Buy Now

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books

Sponsor Spotlight