Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

The Land

The Land

Series: Logan Family (Book #8)
by Mildred D. Taylor

Prequel to Newberry Medal Winner Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry.

The son of a prosperous landowner and a former slave, Paul-Edward Logan is unlike any other boy he knows. His white father has acknowledged him and raised him openly — something unusual in post-Civil War Georgia. But as he grows into a man he learns that life for someone like him is not easy. Black people distrust him because he looks white. White people discriminate against him when they learn of his black heritage. Even within his own family he faces betrayal and degradation. So at the age of fourteen, he sets out toward the only dream he has ever had: to find land every bit as good as his father's, and make it his own.

Once again inspired by her own history, Ms. Taylor brings truth and power to the newest addition to the award-winning Logan family stories.

"Readers...will grab this and be astonished by its powerful story. — Booklist, starred review

"Taylor's gift for combining history and storytelling is as evident here as in her other stories about the Logan family." — Publishers Weekly, starred review

11, 12, 13
Interest Level
Grades 6 - 8
Lexile Measure
Guided Reading
Phyllis Fogelman Books
Number of Pages
Historical Fiction

About the Author

Mildred D. Taylor Mildred Taylor was born in Jackson, Mississippi, and grew up in Toledo, Ohio. After graduating from the University of Toledo, she served in the Peace Corps in Ethiopia for two years.

The Reading Toolkit

Shop From Scholastic

Find Just-Right Books

Find Just-Right Books