Parents | Raising readers & learners.

Home of Parent & Child Magazine

"The Fault in Our Stars" Readalikes

If your YA reader loved John Green's "The Fault in Our Stars," try recommending these titles about strong friendships and overcoming adversity.
 
Cover image for Looking for Alaska
Looking for Alaska
by John Green

To shake up his play-it-safe, stay-at-home lifestyle, Florida teenager Miles "Pudge" Halter convinces his parents to let him attend a coed boarding school in Alabama.

Read More
Cover image for Abundance of Katherines, An
Abundance of Katherines, An
by John Green

When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton's type is girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.

Read More
Cover image for Paper Towns
Paper Towns
by John Green

With his trademark brilliant wit and heart-stopping emotional honesty, the Printz Medal-winning author of Looking for Alaska returns with a novel about a teenage girl who has mysteriously vanished, and the boy who looks for her by following the clues she left behind just for him.

Read More
Cover image for Perks of Being a Wallflower, The
Perks of Being a Wallflower, The
by Stephen Chbosky

This is the story of what it's like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie's letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives. We may not know to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares.

Read More
Cover image for The Book Thief
The Book Thief
by Markus Zusak

It's 1939 in Molching, Germany, and horror is everywhere. Nazi rule has divided the nation into those who are brutalized and those who are merely oppressed. Hunger, fear, and isolation reign. There are stories here, and who better to tell them than Death?

Read More
Cover image for Wonder
Wonder
by R. J. Palacio

August Pullman is not an ordinary ten-year-old kid. Sure, he's a huge Star Wars fan, he loves his dog, and he's got a pretty good sense of humor. But August was born with a craniofacial abnormality, a genetic defect that caused his facial features to be severely deformed.

Read More

Hardcovers: $11.19

Buy Now
Cover image for Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
by Benjamin Alire Saenz

2013 Printz Honor Book

2013 Pura Belpre Author Award Winner

2013 Stonewall Book Award Winner

Read More

Paperbacks: $8.99

Buy Now

Find Just-Right Books